Anyone who knows me fairly well, knows I am a bit of a movie geek. I have been using the Flickster application on Facebook for over a year now, writing little reviews of every film I watch. These aren’t full, in-depth, reviews, just a small paragraph for each one, for no reason other than I kinda enjoy it. Rather than post them individually, I thought I’d do it weekly. Because, ya’ know, it’s my blog and I can do what I like:

American Hardcore (2006) Dir. Paul Rachman
A very cool documentary that really gets across what the hardcore punk scene was all about and how it all happened. With high production values, and interviews with all the major players (who I could listen to all day), this is a damn good movie.

Antichrist (2009)Dir. Lars von Trier
The key message of this flick: Women are fucking evil. This is an immensely interesting and well shot movie, with Willem Defoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg both showing high levels of commitment. I really dug the general crazyness of it all. Not for everyone, but pretty darn cool and disturbing either way.

Timecrimes (2007)Dir. Nacho Vigalondo
I’ve always liked time travel movies, and this approaches the subject with intelligence and a bleak elegance that makes it highly unique, and very, very good. It’s great to see a film that doesn’t ruin or overcook a time travel-based story with cheesy effects and campness. More people need to check this out.

