Comin’ at ya’ with some more old school print and design-related relics from times gone by. I found these things in the store room at the back of our studio (above) when we were moving stuff around for the exhibition. As well as what looks like a giant robot arm made of tin foil, there was a ton of old books, typeface specimens (which I will showcase once I get around to scanning them in) and stuff of that ilk which seem to have been forgotten about over the last decade or so. Most of the stuff kinda deserves to be slung in a back room, but not these interesting and funky paper stock brochures I found:

I assume these were like sample brochures for anyone who wanted or would be interested in ordering paper in bulk. Whatever the reason for their existence, they have the same rigid, retro, businessy look as that British Standards Institute guide I found a few weeks back (here). Boring to most, cool to me, in an old-office, cassette-tape kinda way. Plus these can also be used as paper textures (win). Next up is the same sort of thing from a different paper manufacturer, Yates Duxbury:

Superfine‘ in my head is something more suited for a female blacksploitation character (“Pam Grier is SUPERFINE!”), but I guess paper can also be fine but in a very different way. These ones remind me more of those carpet sample books you get, with each one having a unique feel and style. The same is true of these paper stocks, but the differences between each one are significantly less and most normal people couldn’t give two shits about what their paper feels like.

These last two are ones that just had nice covers. I can’t actually remember what ‘Action‘ had inside, but the 70s sci-fi looking type stood out as it looks so dated. Something I’d most likely expect to see on those giant floppy discs they had before they made floppy discs the small size. Modern and futuristic at the time, garish and dare I say, boring today. The Eric Chambers book on the other hand, I think looks wonderful. If anything it’s kinda the opposite of ‘Action’: Boring and plain when it was first made, wonderfully retro and jazzy today. It just goes to show that if you’re a cooky designer there’s a wealth of old junk just waiting to be discovered and appreciated. Examples of when the industry was simpler, and very, very different, which I think is kinda nice.

