Just a quick one today folks. I went back to uni last week to help sort out the studios for the start of the academic year, and as an entire room has been taken away from the course, we had to go through massive piles of stuff that’s been accumulating over the last 30 years or so. Most of it was rusty tool-box junk, useless admin forms and old cardboard, but amidst all the fail I found an old Letraset catalogue which, being the typography and design aficionado that I am, couldn’t help but really dig. During some down time I snapped a few photos on my phone, annoyingly I didn’t note what year it came out, but I’m guessing early to mid 80s.

Much like the stuff I found ‘From the Store Room’ and the ‘BS 5261C’ form, this is a cool relic from a time when the design industry was very different. Letraset is probably the best example of how things ‘used to be’, in particular their type transfer sheets that illustrate just how drastically things have changed. The typefaces, symbols and all the other various print-related stuff you could order has been arranged and set quite nicely, almost reminiscent of the modern infographic craze that has been sweeping the design world. With any luck there are loads of these catalogues still around somewhere, as this stuff needs to preserved, it’s just too cool to let disappear.

